NC Act Early

Services for Infants and Children Under 3 Years Old

NC Department of Health and Human Services Infant-Toddler Program

Families with children under the age of three who have been identified as having a developmental delay or established condition may be eligible to receive supports and services through the Infant-Toddler Program (ITP). There are sixteen Children's Developmental Services Agencies (CDSAs) throughout North Carolina that are part of the statewide North Carolina Infant-Toddler Program (ITP).

The CDSAs are dedicated to providing support to families with children from birth to age three who have developmental delays or who are at risk for developmental problems. If you have concerns regarding your infant or toddler's development or if you have a child under age 3 with special developmental needs, you can start a referral or determine your eligibility by contacting your local CDSA. Please click here for a list of offices throughout North Carolina. You can also find more information by visiting the Infant-Toddler Program website.


A child and family may be eligible to receive supports and services through the NC Infant-Toddler Program (ITP) if the child is under the age of three and has certain levels of developmental delay or has an established condition.

A child with a developmental delay is not developing and reaching milestones like other children. A developmental delay can occur in one or more of the following areas:

  • Thinking and learning (cognitive skills)
  • Crawling, walking, and moving (motor skills)
  • Seeing, hearing, and health
  • Understanding and using sounds, gestures, and words (speech-language skills)
  • Responding to and developing relationships (social development)
  • Taking care of one's self when doing things like feeding or dressing (adaptive skills)

A child with an established condition has a diagnosed health condition that will very likely cause a developmental delay. Some examples of established conditions include:

  • Genetic disorders, such as Down syndrome or cystic fibrosis
  • Congenital infections, such as HIV or rubella
  • Central nervous system disorders, such as cerebral palsy or epilepsy
  • Hearing loss and/or vision problems
  • Autism spectrum disorder

Please refer to the NC Infant-Toddler Program eligibility document for a complete definition of eligibility requirements.